Simple Home Crawfish Boil for Supper w/ Purple Potatoes

So backstory. My mom came down to visit for a week from Illinois. It was the perfect week for her to come as the weather was ideal and I was off work ready for us to put some miles on the car and eat our way around the state. We did well. Just shy of 1,000 miles (1,610 km) in seven days plus some time at home. As my mom would say we painted the town in Baton Rouge, New Roads, St. Francisville, St. Martinsville, Lafayette, Breaux Bridge, New Iberville, Metairie, and the French Quarter. It’ll take me a while to mull it all over, but I can easily start with our crawfish.

We crawfish boiled Saturday night. We wanted to eat in, so I picked up some live crawfish to cook a little for my wife, mom, and myself. I also got baby purple potatoes, mushrooms, a lemon and two limes. I made a side salad of diced cucumber, tomatoes, red bell pepper, basil, and ripe mango. Something fresh was nice to offset the potato carbs of the boil.

I boiled the potatoes and mushrooms first because my pot was too small to do everything at once. To do: boil a squeezed lime and two lemons with a bunch of cayenne pepper, paprika, and garlic powder. I generally make the seasoning to avoid the salt content of purchased seafood boil seasoning which can be well over 2,000 times your daily limit, not that you end up eating all the seasoning in the water, but anyway. Add your potatoes and mushrooms and boil until soft.

As for the crawfish it gets a little gruesome. Turn away now if you don’t really want to know. You have to purge the crawfish prior to boiling. Take the live crawfish and place them in cool water with a bunch of salt to make them throw up everything they’ve recently eaten. After 15 minutes, rinse them well to wash away the salt. Then throw them into your seasoned pot of boiling water and let them boil awhile.

You have to balance two considerations. Boil too long and the meat falls apart making it difficult to get the tails out of the shell. Boil it too little and the seasoning doesn’t get to the meat. This time I fell far toward the latter but it was nice to get to taste the meat of the crawfish, which doesn’t really happen when they’re really spicy.

Our meal was nice. A little meat with crisp, colorful potatoes and a super fresh little salad. Nice all the way around. Well, except for the crawfish. To eat, I found it nice to cut-flat a couple of brown paper bags for each person and then each pour out a pile of crawfish. We enjoyed.

Sup?

